New Civil Society Representatives on the NEITI Board Emerge

oil-and-gasNew civil society representatives on the Board of the National Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative have emerged. The new representatives are:

  1. 1.      Dr. Mina Ogbanga- CSO
  2. 2.      Ms. Abiodun Baiyewu-Teru (Global Rights)- CSO
  3. 3.      Ms. Emem B. Okon- Women
  4. 4.      Maife Lincoln of Youth Forum on EITI


A.   Background:

–       The Committee for the Selection of members of the Civil Society Steering Committee (CSSC) of the NEITI Board sought nominations from a broad spectrum of civil society stakeholders to fill the four (4) openings in the Committee.

–       In total, there were 96 nominations: 10 for women groups, 14 for youth groups, and rest for the two remaining categories.

–       Out of the 96 nominations that the Selection Committee received, 45 persons were shortlisted.

–       Two factors were considered in selecting the 47 persons. First, several persons were nominated multiple times by different organizations. Regardless of the frequency, every nomination for an individual was entered as a single entry. Secondly, names that appeared multiple times for different categories were entered as a single entry under one category.

–       Based on the above, all the persons nominated have been shortlisted without exception. That is, the 45 shortlisted candidates were pooled from the 96 nominations that the Selection Committee received.

B.   Nominees’ Obligatory Qualifications:


–       The next step is to determine the criteria for selecting four candidates out of the 47 persons shortlisted for the four categories. The EITI Standard includes a handful of specific requirements for civil society groups regarding their internal governance practices, and recognizes that it is critical that they are well governed in order to effectively advance the goals of EITI.

–       The Selection Committee Chair held series of consultations with experts in EITI internal governance procedures, and examined a number of voting criteria that have been adopted in other EITI-member countries. In particular, a November 3, 2016 Skype interview with Amelia Evans of the Multi-Stakeholder Integrity (MSI-INTEGRITY) highlighted strategies for establishing eligibility criteria. The  Selection Committee adopted the following obligatory qualification criteria:


a.    Knowledge and experience: Final nominees should have the following skillsets:

–       Strong negotiation and accounting skills

–       Strong knowledge of human rights principles relating to extractives

–       Evidence of work or connection to indigenous communities hosting extractive initiatives, or a representative of a community affected by extractive activity

–       No less than 3 years’ experience in development work, human rights and governance issues.

–       Must be the leader or employee in a civil society organization that is fully registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission.

b.    Attendance at meetings: Effective participation in the NEITI places certain obligations and costs on the civil society representatives in the Committee. Nominees, through their organizations, shall have the capacity to attend meetings regularly; bear costs relating to meetings; and liaise and seek input from the constituents or stakeholders they represent, before and after meetings.


c.    Consultation and engagement with key stakeholders: Nominees, through their organizations, have shall the capacity to undertake outreach activities and engage a wide range of civil society groups, companies and government actors. They must be able to connect to their constituencies and the general public, including widely disseminating the public information that results from the EITI process such as the EITI report.

d.    Conflict of interest: Nominees shall disclose or address actual or perceived conflicts of interest in issues and decisions relevant to the NEITI. Disclosures of political affiliation or financial support from oil companies are compulsory. Failure to disclose this fact may lead to the revocation of the nomination at any time it is discovered.

e.    Diversity requirements: Four categories of nominations have been sought: (a) a representative of youth-focused organizations; (b) a representative of women and gender advocacy organizations and (c) two other civil society representatives. Candidates should clearly indicate the categories they elect to represent.

f.     Duration of the mandate: Successful nominees shall have a four (4) year mandate to serve in the Civil Society Steering Committee (CSSC) of the NEITI Board. The tenure of the 4 members shall elapse at the same time with the NEITI Board.

g.    Convictions: All nominees are required to fully disclose and provide particulars of previous criminal convictions, indictments by any panel or tribunal for any impropriety whatsoever, including any ongoing prosecution for any criminal offence. Failure to disclose this fact may lead to the revocation of the nomination at any time it is discovered.

h.    Mandate is tied to the organizations, not individuals: The successful nominees shall serve in their organizational capacity, and not their personal capacities. Clauses B and C above require the organizations where the successful candidates work to play certain roles, and undertake certain obligations in relation to this mandate. Should the nominee cease to work with the organization, the hosting body shall reserve the right to replace the nominee.

i.     The onus to provide evidence of possession of the above skillsets, capacities and organization commitment rests on the shortlisted candidates or their host organizations. 


The Selection Committee submitted one vote in each of the following categories: Youth, Women and the General Advocacy. All the 45 shortlisted candidates were eligible for nomination. The Selection Committee’s votes were based on the provided information in the second round, plus their personal knowledge of the candidates’ capabilities  or their organization’s track record in undertaking advocacy around extractives.
 The Top 10 vote getters were reviewed further to ensure they satisfied all the eligibility criteria (see “criteria” below in previous emails).  Only 4 of the 10 top vote getters who satisfied ALL the listed criteria and also achieved a minimum of 2% or more of the vote within the respective category were selected.


SPACES FOR CHANGE’s director,  Victoria Ohaeri chaired the Selection Committee.

You might also like