Energy Continental Award for Media Excellence (ECAME)



On July 31, 2015, the organizing committee of the Energy Continental Award for Media Excellence (ECAME) held its maiden meeting in Lagos. ECAME aims to identify and celebrate journalists in Africa who demonstrate strong commitment to intelligent reporting and analysis of issues in the energy, environment and intermediate industries. Through such recognition, journalists will be motivated to embed the values of high-quality reporting standards and professional ethics in African journalism.

Already endorsed by many stakeholders, including the National Association of Energy Correspondents, ECAME will encourage journalists in Nigeria and other African nations to investigate and report issues more accurately than before. To institutionalize the annual awards scheme, ECAME’s planning committee activities will be supported by a body of patrons, an award panel, and an advisory board. The Award categories include: Oil and Gas Correspondent of the year, Power Sector Correspondent of the year, Renewable Energy Correspondent of the year, Corporate Social Responsibility Writer of the year, Occupational Health and Safety Writer of the year, Environment Writer of the year, Climate Change Writer of the year, Energy Finance Writer of the year, Labour Correspondent of the year, Best Energy Editor of the year, Best Energy Newspaper of the year, Best Energy TV of the year, Best Energy Radio of the year, Best Energy Magazine of the year, Community Advocacy Writer of the year and Best Online Publication of the year.

ECAME planning committee members comprise representatives of the media, academia, indigenous oil operators, petroleum trade unions, advertising agencies, government departments and the civil society. Spaces for Change’s executive director, Victoria Ohaeri, is a member of the planning committee.

You might also like

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments